Before you have a reunion…

you have to have information.

I understand there may be some adoptees marching for their right to know who they are today in New Orleans so this is for them.

When all the studies say that mothers of children lost to adoption want to be found, why do people keep perpetuating the myth that records should not be opened because the “birth mother” was promised confidentiality.

As a mother, I can tell you no such promise was made to me. A penalty was imposed on me, that I would never know my child. It wasn’t what I wanted. Of course, that didn’t stop us. we searched for each other and we met.

If you are the mother (or father) of a child who was adopted and you’d really like to meet that child, speak up, make your views known.

Peace

UM

2 Responses to Before you have a reunion…

  1. unsignedmasterpiece says:

    Just speaking from my own experience, my child’s father was very supportive when I was searching and after we met. He told his family at some personal cost to himself. Every one that he told about what happened thought it was a wonderful heart-warming story. So just based on that I don’t see a big downside. However there may have been wilder sowers of wild oats who have not one but more than one child they fear may show up. I hope that your theory is not correct. That would be pretty low. Unfair to everybody – adoptees and those as bore them.

    UM

  2. suz says:

    Ever think its the DADS that dont want open records? Think about how many possible men there are in positions of power, with wives, families, etc that they have NEVER told they fathered another child. The dads who sit in leglislative offices may be hiding behind the women they impregnanted and using her as an excuse to keep records closed.
    Just a different perspective.

What Do You Think?

