Sorry for any inconvenience…

ImageChef.comIn my opinion, “Sorry for any inconvenience.” has to be one of the most insincere phrases in the English language, tossed off usually in a manner that leads you to believe the person, corporation, telephone company, cable provider or government service is anything but sorry.

In that vein here is an announcement from the government of my home province. For some reason, it makes me think about the CAS – that’s Children’s Aid Society – and asking them how they feel about issuing a few apologies.

Attorney General Chris Bentley says a proposed apology act for the province would help make the justice system more affordable and punctual.

The provincial government last week rolled out proposed legislation that would remove the risk of civil court liability for individuals and organizations that issue apologies.

The government said the new law would help victims’ recovery, improve accountability and transparency in the health-care sector, and aid the justice system by “fostering the resolution of civil disputes and shortening or avoiding litigation.”

Bentley said, “The goal of the legislation is to encourage sincere apologies — saying sorry for a mistake or wrongdoing is the right thing to do.”

So maybe I should call the CAS. Let’s see what would I ask them to apologize for. Maybe the fact that they knew at the time I had my son that there were no Catholic homes looking to adopt a child. Maybe for not telling me that they had a policy that said he could not be adopted by a family of another faith. And for not telling me that my son, therefore, would go straight to foster care. And that he sat for almost 10 months until finally a family showed up. Not the perfect family, just the first one.**

Yes that might be a good place to start. They should apologize don’t you think.

After all, it’s not going to cost them anything.

Peace

UM

** From the Origins Canada website:

“The Children’s Aid Society may have fallen into the trap of accepting adoption as the sole solution for children born out of wedlock.  If this trend continues there will not be adoption homes for all our illegitimate babies”.  Walter W. Blackburn, Assistant Director, Children’s Aid Society of Metropolitan Toronto.  Toronto Star, February 17, 1966.

It is perfectly clear that if the illegitimacy rate continues at anything like the present, we will not have adequate number of homes available”  Professor Mary Taylor, University of Michigan. United Church Observer, February 1, 1966.

“This is a blow to ministers and social workers who, for a generation, have told girls that giving up their babies was the unselfish thing, best for them, for the babies, and for the childless couples begging for them” Allan Sherlock, Catholic Children’s Aid Society of Toronto.  United Church Observer, February 1, 1966.

“If the increase in adoptable children continues and the problem becomes even more acute, the Department will, as a matter of policy have to consider the working mother as a suitable parent, and in this case extensive day care centres”  Report of the Committee on Adoption in Alberta – July 1965, p.35

“…in the early months of 1965 the situation has deteriorated further, partly because more unwed mothers have surrendered their children, partly because more children have been made permanent wards by Court Order, and partly because there has been a marked decline reported in adoption applications”  Report of the Committee on Adoption in Alberta – July 1965, p.39

5 Responses to Sorry for any inconvenience…

  1. teradanielle says:

    In Alberta, Canada I was lied to as well. I was told if I did not sign right away and if I wanted time to think about it, my daughter would remain in foster care. It was 100% a complete lie. I could have walked right out of the hospital with her and taken all the time I needed, but the agency social workers had managed to make me feel that i had no rights to her even before I signed. This was 1998–not 1968!

    Things are still just as insidious as ever. I was recently told years later by an agency rep that “I’m sorry this happened to you, however things have changed a lot since then.” Really? Where? How? Not a damn thing has changed, other than the increased price tag of each eligible child. and “I’m sorry but…” is no apology–I’m not holding my breath waiting either.

  2. unsignedmasterpiece says:

    In-out In-out

    That is the sound of me not holding my breath.

    A very wise woman said to me a long time ago – You have to pick the hill you want to die on.

    This wouldn’t be mine

    I think the end result would be very much of the Sorry for Any Inconvenience variety.

  3. Denise says:

    I hope you get your apology one day UM, but in all honesty, I wouldn’t hold your breath. One day I would like an apology for the lies told to me too, directly by my son’s aparents, on their profile and the one time we met them before our son was born. But I won’t hold my breath either,

    Be Well,
    Denise

  4. mama2roo says:

    Oh, that makes my heart hurt. They may not say they’re sorry…but I am.

What Do You Think?

