UM’s Most Popular Post So Far

I thought it be interesting to see, since I hadn’t written for a while, which of my archived posts was getting the most on-going traffic since Unsigned Masterpiece began in July of 2008.

It is “Sorry for Any Inconvenience” posted October 20, 2008. Here it is:

Sorry for Any Inconveninece….

ImageChef.comIn my opinion, “Sorry for any inconvenience.” has to be one of the most insincere phrases in the English language, tossed off usually in a manner that leads you to believe the person, corporation, telephone company, cable provider or government service is anything but sorry.

In that vein here is an announcement from the government of my home province. For some reason, it makes me think about the CAS – that’s Children’s Aid Society – and asking them how they feel about issuing a few apologies.

Attorney General Chris Bentley says a proposed apology act for the province would help make the justice system more affordable and punctual.

The provincial government last week rolled out proposed legislation that would remove the risk of civil court liability for individuals and organizations that issue apologies.

The government said the new law would help victims’ recovery, improve accountability and transparency in the health-care sector, and aid the justice system by “fostering the resolution of civil disputes and shortening or avoiding litigation.”

Bentley said, “The goal of the legislation is to encourage sincere apologies — saying sorry for a mistake or wrongdoing is the right thing to do.”

So maybe I should call the CAS. Let’s see what would I ask them to apologize for. Maybe the fact that they knew at the time I had my son that there were no Catholic homes looking to adopt a child. Maybe for not telling me that they had a policy that said he could not be adopted by a family of another faith. And for not telling me that my son, therefore, would go straight to foster care. And that he sat for almost 10 months until finally a family showed up. Not the perfect family, just the first one.

Yes that might be a good place to start. They should apologize don’t you think.

After all, it’s not going to cost them anything.

Peace

UM

One Response to UM’s Most Popular Post So Far

  1. Denise says:

    So many apologies owed,,, everyone involved in the scooping of babies, from the doctors to the attorneys or social services, even the adoptive parents. They must know what they are doing and yet turning a blind eye to fulfill their own needs.

    I don’t know what got into me, but I rejected foster care and refused to release my son from the hospital until he went to his adoptive home. In some ways, I wish I’d allowed foster care, where I might have been allowed to visit him and/or change my mind before it became final. I have learned a lot since. Back then, my thinking was that he not languish or be held up to the highest bidder. The attorney was pissed, but as it happened he had a family for me to approve (what a pack of lies!) and my son was picked up within day, flown from California to NY.

    In retrospect perhaps a mistake, but that’s what I thought was best at the time. So indoctrinated I was…

What Do You Think?

