Serendipitous Happenings

So I feel really bad – really badly even. I signed up for wordpress Camp and I am really looking forward to it but I feel that I have been a negligent little blogger lately.

Part of it is adoption, it gets kind of, I don’t know. You hear the voice of Thumper’s Daddy or was it his Mommy in Bambi – If you don’t have anything nice to say, don’t say anything at all.

But I was watching Julie and Julia the other night and when Amy Adams said to her husband, “I could write a blog, I have thoughts,” I thought – you have thoughts too about stuff other than adoption so get writing.

So here is what I am thinking about today.

Yesterday I was mixed up about the time of an an appointment. Got there too early. I was a little annoyed with my own self.

Because I had time to kill, I went to the nearby library. There sitting on a shelf, all by itself, cover facing out was Ian McEwan’s novel, Chesil Beach. I needed something to read because it was an hour or so before my appointment, so I signed it out.

This book is amazing. This book is so good. I’ve read the whole thing within 24 hours. It’s inspiring (for those of us who are trying to write.)

As my grandmother always said, “It’s an ill wind that doesn’t blow somebody some good.”

I’m glad I was too early for my appointment. I’m glad I read Chesil Beach. I’m starting to read it again.

That doesn’t happen very often.

Peace

UM

What Do You Think?

