Side by Side – a memory

Oh we ain’t got a barrel of money
Maybe we’re ragged and funny
But we’ll travel along
Singing our song
Side by side

My parents used to sing this song in the car on long trips when we were kids. You know, before seat belts, baby seats, ipods and portable dvd players. I can still see them sitting in the front seat, my sister and I in the very back of the Ford station wagon with the window open, breathing in the carbon monoxide.

It’s a happy memory. They would sing:

Through all kinds of weather,

What if the sky should fall,

Just as long as we’re together,

It really doesn’t matter at all.

The song was written in 1925.

When they’ve all had their troubles and parted,

We’ll be the same as we started

Travelling along, singing our song

Side by side.

Thanks again Write-o-holic who made me remember this. Her blog can be located via the blogroll to your right.

Have a good weekend everybody. The picture is Newfoundland.

Peace

UM

One Response to Side by Side – a memory

  1. Denise says:

    UM, Thanks for the note on my blog! I’m glad I helping bring a happy memory.

    :)

What Do You Think?

