My First Ever Adoption Conference – Adoption: Secret Histories: Public Policies MIT

A week from today, I am going to my first ever adoption conference. Adoption: Secret Histories; Public Policies.

http://web.me.com/shaslang/ASAC_2010_Conference/Welcome.html

It’s being held at MIT on the banks of the Charles River in Cambridge, Mass.

This conference appealed to me because I spent many years working for the Office of the Information and Privacy Commissioner for my province. I have a professional as well as a personal interest in this issue.

We all know that one aspect of public policy on adoption was state-enforced and forced secrecy, advertized as being there to protect us, necessary to keep our great shame private. Our identities unknown. One of the speakers is going to talk about: Privacy, Is it Always A Good Thing? Anne Fessler will be there.

I’m interested in what people have to say. But I’m a little nervous about it.

I’m worried about spending three and a half days, thinking, breathing, talking adoption.

I’m worried that there won’t be balance. That the side that always gets most of the press will get it again.

I’m worried I will hear things that upset me.

But still I am going because I feel it is something I need to do – at least once.

And I’m looking forward to going to Boston. It’s a beautiful city. The last time I was there I was pregnant with my daughter who is now 22. She has heard more times than she cares to count that she’d been to Boston – BEFORE SHE WAS EVEN BORN!!!

As I type those words, it crosses my mind that that is something many adoptees don’t know. Where they’ve been, where they were – before they were even born. Their mothers could tell them all about that. Before you can know where you are going, you need to know where you are coming from.

I’m going to try and write a few posts while I’m there. And I’ll definitely be tweeting my adventures at http://twitter.com/um0001

I’ll be using the hashmark #nomoresecrets every time I tweet. Maybe we can even get trending.***

You can read the tweets on this blog too.

Adoption: Secret Histories,Public Policies

I’m looking forward to it – but I’m still a little bit scared.

If you’re going too let me know. Leave a comment or email me at unsignedmasterpiece at gmail dot com. Maybe we can meet face to face.

Peace

UM

*** I didn’t know anything about all this Tweeting hashmark, send-your-tweets-to-your-blog stuff until I went to WordCamp Toronto 2010 #wcto2010 .

So thank you WordPress. The best $35 I ever spent.

5 Responses to My First Ever Adoption Conference – Adoption: Secret Histories: Public Policies MIT

  1. Liz says:

    Hope it goes well for you all.
    Like you point about not knowing where we’ve been.I’m lucky enough since reunion to have filled in some of those gaps but many never have the opportunity.How can we know who we are if we don’t know anything about ourselves?
    Keep us informed of how it goes!Good wishes….

  2. missinpiece says:

    i hope you write about your experience… i’m interested to hear about this conference.

  3. mybirthnameisallison says:

    I went to one in Vancouver last October… it was very good.
    Bring Kleenex!
    And yes, it’s very intense.

    I can’t wait to hear all about it! :-)

  4. susanito says:

    These things are always so intense. I worry about it too and I’ve been to many adoption events. You will most definitely hear things that will upset you, I can guarantee. But hopefully also things that inspire you, make you feel less alone or make you feel connected.

    I will be tweeting too!

    I’m disappointed there are no birthparents on the creative writing panel. I didn’t have any part in the selection process at all, and in fact if I’d had my act together would’ve submitted something myself!

  5. leslie says:

    me too! I’ll be there too – first time adoption conference attendee (attendadopteeanything). I’ll email you at your gmail addy…

What Do You Think?

