Adoption and NaBloPoMo – Day One

Blogger#432 NaBloPoMo

There have been a few times in my life when I have asked myself “How do I get myself into these things?” and this dear readers is one of those times.

This is post #1 for NaBloPoMo.  For those who don’t know or who are not familiar that means I have committed to try and post every day for a month. There’s a NaBloPoMo badge you can put up but I can’t get it to work yet.

The folks at NaBloPoMo help out by setting out daily writing prompts. I looked at the one for last Friday. It was “Have you ever been between a rock and a hard place?”

Oh NaBloPoMo! You are making me laugh.

Are you kidding? Have you read my blog?   Have I ever been between a rock and a hard place?

Oh yes – I have.  In fact, if I hadn’t been between a rock etc. I probably wouldn’t be blogging at all.

I lay the blame for my participation  in NaBloPoMo  squarely at the feet of Amanda over at http://www.declassifiedadoptee.com/ .  She writes a very excellent blog that you should read if you have not yet had the pleasure.

Declassified Amanda is taking part in NaBloPoMo for November because November is Adoption Awareness Month or as she calls it “Adoptember”.  I thought it was an excellent idea. November started as National Adoption Month but some how got turned into Adoption Awareness Month which to some people means In Praise of Adoption Month. But that is not the case here and on many other blogs.

We want to raise awareness of the reality that so many of us who have had an adoption experience live with every day. That includes the impact of adoption on mothers and children, the stereotypes of adoption, the myths of adoption, the fight for open records, etc.

So NaBloPoMo I hope you don’t mind me writing about Friday’s prompt four days late.  I have been been “between a rock and a hard place” and I will be writing about it all adoption awareness month long.

Dear readers wish me luck. I have a writing plan. I’ll tell you about it tomorrow.

Peace

UM

What Do You Think?

