E is for ebook

NaBloPoMo Blog#432 Day 18

adoption, reunion, rEform, reality**

Today E is for ebook.

Author Denise Roessle has written a book, Second Chance Mother, about her experience as a mother who relinquished a child to adoption and then met him twenty-six years later.  It has been published as an ebook and is available as of today.

Writing about the experience of adoption is always a tricky thing but I believe telling these stories is important.  The stories set out the reality of adoption for many mothers and children.  That promises made were not kept.  That children were not delivered into loving homes in some circumstances and that the sacrifice that was made in some ways seems to have been made for naught.

Here is an excerpt:

I pushed back the grief until I was as anesthetized as the day I had given birth. I imagined myself becoming stronger when in truth I had merely become more comfortable with the numbness.

I might as well have been dead. Except I wasn’t. The proof came in a phone call on an ordinary Tuesday afternoon, almost twenty-six years after I had relinquished what turned out to be my only child.

On the website, the publisher describes the book and the journey that followed:

It’s a BIG boy,” she announced to her family and friends, setting free her twenty-six-year secret. But Joshua was not a boy. He was a grown man, with a history that fell far short of what she had envisioned for him when she’d been assured he would be “better off” without her. His adoptive parents had essentially given up on him at age thirteen, sending him away with only an eighth-grade education. He drifted through a series of institutions and group homes, and ultimately onto the New York City streets, where he fell into drugs and crime.

I hope you will check it out.

Peace

UM

** For new readers, I am working through the letters in these words as my writing prompts during NaBloPoMo 2011.

One Response to E is for ebook

  1. Denise says:

    Thank you so much for the shout out! I’m honored.

    Big cyber hugs… D.

What Do You Think?

