Oh NaBloPoMo. It’s time to say…

NaBloPoMo Last Day

adoption, reunion, reform, reality – we’re done!!

Oh NaBloPoMo, it’s time for us to part.  It’s been an interesting month.  We laughed, we cried.  Sometimes I cursed.  But it’s all over now.   It’s not you it’s me.  I think we should date other people.  And while I would like to remain friends, if we can, this will be our last meeting.

Why did I want to get to know you NaBloPoMo?  Well as I said on Day 1 I wanted to support The Declassified Adoptee and her Bloggers Taking Back Adoptember initiative (Yes, I said initiative. I used to work for the government.)

But supporting DCA just got me started. I did it for some other reasons too.

As a writer I know the more you write the better and so the idea of making this commitment to write everyday appealed to me.  I liked the writing, I liked the goal setting.  Yes I was worried about writing every day about my least favourite thing – adoption.  I jokingly left a comment on Adoptive Mom’s Margie’s blog that part of me thought I would write about adoption for every day for thirty days and then I would be writ out, spent, done.  No more adoption blogging.  Okay-I can hear the money changing hands out there as I type as to whether that will happen.  I am guessing that the odds are not in my favour.  But then Ha! they never were.

I had some other reasons.  October was the best month statistically speaking that Unsigned Masterpiece ever had.

Taking Back November!

This was due to the death of famous adoptee, Steve Jobs.  Who knew what an education about the long reaching effects of adoption his death would be to so many people.  I wanted to see if I could top October’s stats without Mr. Jobs (kind of like Apple.)  I am pleased to say we beat October. Yay!  By a few hundred hits so far.

I wanted to raise my profile a little, maybe pick up a few more followers. Check.

What did I get out of this that I didn’t expect?

I think my little typewriter is now a permanent fixture.  I really like my little typewriter.

I learned to do something technical in the linking area, that’s good.

I saw the benefits of going multi-platform.  I want to start another more general blog so that is good to know.

Like all journeys, like my trip on the the QM2, I got something out of it I didn’t expect.  Writing about adoption everyday seemed to make me calmer about it, more certain of all the things I believe about it.

So how do I assess my writing over the 30 days?  Some good, some ok, some so so.

I think these are my favs:

T is for Things Adoptive Parents Say
A is for All you need is …
F is for Feminists (or a letter to Gloria)

I think Ernest Hemingway said for every 100 pages he wrote there was one page of genius and 99 pages of garbage ( or words to that effect). I’ll accept three posts out thirty as not bad.

So long NaBloPoMo

In the midst of all this there was a crisis re my elderly mom that continues. Then in the midst that crisis my dog got sick. She started to limp and when it didn’t go away we took her in. Her hip was shot and there was a shadow on her bone that the vet worries may be cancer. The hip has now been repaired. The biopsy results should be back in a week or so.  Think positive thoughts.  The vet bill was $4000. The doggie – priceless. Unconditional love. More valuable than gold.

It was hard to keep blogging. I almost gave up.  MyBirthNameIsAllison saved me from quitting.  I was reminded of the joys of mutual support and for that I thank her.

I’m glad I kept going.

Thanks to all of you out there for following and welcome if you are new.  And thanks to old on line friends for reading along.  Congrats to the other NABloPoMoers.  Joy, you crack me up too.  I wish I could have read more of everybody. Thanks to Suz of WritingMyWrongs for guest posting.

Every now and then someone would apologize for not keeping up with their reading.  I would tell them not to worry. I was having trouble myself and I knew my husband (and biggest fan) was falling behind too.  All adoption everyday for 30 days is a lot.

Unsigned Masterpiece will be returning to its old schedule of publishing once a month around the twentieth – unless there is a second coming of Steve Jobs or some other comment-worthy adoption news.

Peace and so long NaBloPoMo 2011

UM
What Do You Think?

