Adoption and Addiction

Next Post

Unsigned Masterpiece

January 20, 2012

In the meantime

Here are some interesting excerpts from a lecture on

Adoption and Addiction

The link to the complete lecture is at the end of the video.

Adoption and Addiction

3 Responses to Adoption and Addiction

  1. angelle2 says:

    Thank you for posting.

    Since I have been reunited with my son we have had many talks about his adoption, his adoptive family (which chooses to deny him his reality) and how this affects his wife and kids.

    I look forward to sharing this with him.

    • Unsigned Masterpiece says:

      You are lucky you can talk about it.

      • angelle2 says:

        Yes, I think that I am lucky but I live with a fear that I may overstep my bounds. It is always on my mind.

        I have been thinking about the lecture and from my point of view as a mother who had her child taken away from her I think we are on the flip side of the equation: PTSD, never trusting anyone, depression, self destructive behavior, and so forth.

        I was a child when I was thrown out to fend for myself emotionally because I was pregnant. To bond with a child for nine months, give birth, and have my child taken away without seeing them was a trauma inflicted on us both.

What Do You Think?

