The memory that you don`t recall (and adoption)

UM

UM

I have a confession to make. I have never read The Primal Wound by Nancy Verrier.  Ms. Verrier is the adoptive mother of a daughter.

She began to study the trauma of separation while working on her PhD thesis.

I came across a three-part interview with her.

Everybody but me has probably seen it already but just in case you haven`t I am posting it here.

Nancy Verrier Interview Part One

In the interview, Verrier talks about somatic memory traces so I have also included something from Harvard on this topic.

For Parts Two and Three  – look to the right once you open the link, you will see them in the line-up and can (binge) watch all three parts.

Peace

UM

2 Responses to The memory that you don`t recall (and adoption)

  1. This makes for very uncomfortable watching but I’m glad I did. I don’t read a lot of literature on adoption, too painful, but perhaps it’s time I did. Thanks for posting the link.

    • Unsigned Masterpiece says:

      You’re welcome. I have the same issue. I have read very few adoption memoirs and hardly any books on theory. But I thought what she said made sense.

What Do You Think?

