Power, Privilege (and adoption)

UM

UM

There is an adoption conference coming up in May that I am thinking of attending.  The theme of the conference is The Sleeping Giants of Adoption: Power, Privilege, Politics and Class.  I am gratified that this question is finally being addressed.  Whether adoption has been through a for-profit or a not-for-profit agency, the consistent class, power and privilege differences between those relinquishing and those adopting stand out.

The last Adoption Conference I attended was in 2010 at MIT in Boston.  It was an interesting and sometime upsetting experience.  One of the things that I was pleased to see at the conference was the large group of adoptees who have taken on the formal study of adoption as their life’s work. I wrote about the conference here, here and here.

This is one example of an adoptee who will be attending the upcoming conference and who, I am pleased to see, will be on the organizing committee in the future. I don’t know if this is from a paper that he pitched for this year.  I hope so because it sounds interesting. Here is the link to his blog: Daniel

Peace

UM

2 Responses to Power, Privilege (and adoption)

  1. droessle says:

    I tried to comment on your post, but couldn’t log in via wordpress, which is weird, since I have an account. Here’s what I wanted to say:

    Im presenting at the American Adoption Congress conference in SF in April. Also did last year in Cleveland. I cant do more than one a year, with the travel cost. But I should probably branch out. The one you mentioned sounds interesting, probably more open than AAC to the politics of adoption. Although Rickie Sollinger is speaking at this one. I dont do it simply to promote my book, but to spread the word about the fate of mothers who lost and are still losing their children. Thanks for this post.

What Do You Think?

